A Weekly Writing Report (#2)

I have been having a cracking good time reading Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins this past week for two reasons: 1) it has re-reminded me why I don’t enjoy reading young adult fiction anymore—exhibit A—and 2) scribbling into the battered edges has proven to be the antidote to keep The Wall away. 

Nonetheless, I am not doing as well as I would like to be doing. If it weren’t for my heated feelings about the tropes in the YA contemporary romance hit, then I wouldn’t have enough progress with my other short stories to warrant this weekly update. While my goal is to write 1,000 words every week, which I achieved, I don’t want them to be the result of the work I did in one day.

Half an hour of writing before bedtime isn’t happening since I’m reaching for books instead of my Word app, so this week I’m going to try to set my alarm half an hour earlier than the time I tend to wake up. Perhaps a morning routine for writing and an evening routine for reading is going to work out better.

Big Boys Cry When Their Hearts Are Breaking/ Literary : +1200

TOTAL: 1200/1000 ☺

7 thoughts on “A Weekly Writing Report (#2)

  1. Katie says:

    I like that you set goals for writing. I’ve always had so much trouble relying on inspiration, and I’ve ripped out too many pages to force myself to write when I really don’t feel like it. But with goals it’s awesome that you progress at a relatively steady pace.

    Like

    1. allerdale says:

      The goals are what I needed. Truly, madly, desperately. Relying on inspiration to strike has led to weeks upon weeks of not writing, which were anxiety filled weeks of guilt at that. Are you thinking of starting up any goals?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Katie says:

        I’m thinking about having goals for my fanfiction, which I write on the side. I don’t like letting them slip into oblivion, and I like to be punctual with their releases. Maybe 1,000 words a week?

        Like

          1. allerdale says:

            Thanks for the link! I’ll check it out when I have a day off. For a year or so I only read gen fanfiction about the Thor movies xD so I love me some well written works. Let me know how that goal keeping goes.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

